Imelda Wiguno

Imelda Wiguno (also known as Imelda Wigoena, born 12 October 1951) is a former badminton player from Indonesia who played at the world class level from the mid-1970s through the mid-1980s.
A doubles specialist, Wiguno’s two most impressive years in badminton were 1979 and 1980. In 1979 she won both doubles events, women’s doubles with Verawaty Wiharjo and mixed doubles with Christian Hadinata, at the prestigious All-England Championships.[1] The following year she reached the final of both events at the then triennial IBF World Championships in Jakarta, losing the women’s doubles with Verawaty but winning the mixed doubles with Christian.[2] Thereafter, though Wiguno continued to play at a high level, the demands of motherhood and strong competition from Chinese Mainland players made winning the biggest tournaments more difficult. Her other titles included women’s doubles at the Asian Games (1978), the Danish Open (1978), the Canadian Open (1979), and the Southeast Asian Games (1979, 1985); and mixed doubles at the Canadian Open (1979), and the Southeast Asian Games (1979, 1981, 1985).
Wiguno played in five consecutive Uber Cup (women’s international team) competitions for Indonesia between 1974 and 1986. She helped her nation to capture its first world title (over Japan) in 1975,[3] and to reach the final round in 1978, 1981, and 1986.

^ Pat Davis, The Guinness Book of Badminton (Enfield, Middlesex, England: Guinness Superlatives Ltd., 1983) 95, 108.
^ Davis, 110.
^ Davis 134, 135.


World Badminton Champions in Mixed Doubles

1977: Steen Skovgaard & Lene Køppen (DEN)
1978 (WBF): Pichai Kongsirithavorn & Petchroong Liengtrakulngam (THA)
1979 (WBF): Ng Chun Ching & Chan Lim Chee (HKG)
1980: Christian Hadinata & Imelda Wiguno (INA)
1983: Thomas Kihlström (SWE) & Nora Perry (ENG)
1985: Park Joo-bong & Yoo Sang-hee (KOR)
1987: Wang Pengren & Shi Fangjing (CHN)
1989: Park Joo-bong & Chung Myung-hee (KOR)
1991: Park Joo-bong & Chung Myung-hee (KOR)
1993: Thomas Lund (DEN) & Catrine Bengtsson (SWE)
1995: Thomas Lund & Marlene Thomsen (DEN)
1997: Liu Yong & Ge Fei (CHN)
1999: Kim Dong-moon & Ra Kyung-min (KOR)
2001: Zhang Jun & Gao Ling (CHN)
2003: Kim Dong-moon & Ra Kyung-min (KOR)
2005: Nova Widianto & Liliyana Natsir (INA)
2006: Nathan Robertson & Gail Emms (ENG)
2007: Nova Widianto & Liliyana Natsir (INA)
2009: Thomas Laybourn &